First cupcakes of 2018!

As you all know at Christmas time we tend to splurge on things and one of those things is sweets. You always end up with tubs of Quality Street, Roses and Celebrations. I don’t know about you but when you go oh ill have one they never seem that appealing and they just get left.

To try and deal with the surplus of sweeties i made some cupcakes and incorporated our leftover Celebrations into them. I needed 24, and let me tell you it doesn’t even look like i’ve made a dent in the tub. I’m going to be baking for weeks to get rid of them!

I just used a basic chocolate cupcake recipe:

  • 150g softened unsalted butter or baking spread ( i used the spread)
  • 150g light brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 170g self raising flour

For the buttercream

  • 300g icing sugar
  • 15g cocoa powder
  • 150g butter

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. add the eggs and flour to make the batter.

I just put a small dollop on the bottom of each cupcake case and plopped a celebration on top of each one and topped it with more batter. The only Celebrations i didn’t use were Twix because of the the biscuit and Bounty (cos lets be real, who likes Bountys? Cue line of people telling me Bountys are great lol).

Baked for 18 minutes at 170c and leave to cool.

The buttercream is my favourite part of a cupcake and i especially like chocolate buttercream, so much so that when i’ve iced the cupcakes and there’s some left i eat it out the piping bag lol.

Once the icing is made and you’ve topped the cupcakes i just plonked a Celebration on top i kept it all mixed up so what was inside the cake didn’t correspond to the chocolate on top.

I think they turned out pretty good. I didn’t get one my boyfriend took them to work but i’m told they were nice, not as nice as the salted caramel ones i made, never happy they boys, never happy. I think that’s a hint for me to make them again.

IMG_0047

 

Leave a comment